Complete Novice

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46, nickkeyser

AndyM
RSSOC Member

Complete Novice

Post by AndyM » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:31 pm

Good Evening,

As part of my mid life crisis turning 40 last year I bought myself a 1600 SS1. I swapped a few messages with Craig at the end of the summer about participating in a few sprints and hill climbs in 2018, and he suggested introducing myself on the Forum.

Living in Somerset (Weston-super-Mud), I would like to try and take part in some of the more Sothern events of 2018 (Midlands and Down) and enter my pretty much standard car.

Reading loads of information online along with the details Craig kindly sent me before, prepping my car seems relatively straight forward although most of this will hinge on if there are any major issues with the MOT due next month.

I realise I have already missed the meeting last weekend where I could of probably learnt a fair bit, but am I being daft entering a standard car?

Do people attend every event or do they pick and choose throughout the year?

I suppose I am trying to work out, as a complete novice, am I better to enter events via the RSSOC as part of a structure season (I am already a member of the RSSOC) or joining a local motor club and taking part in a few events through them first?

Your thoughts and advice would be appreciated.

Andy

reliant-reviver
RSSOC Member

Complete Novice

Post by reliant-reviver » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:26 pm

Excellent!
Standard is the place to start imho. We haven't seen a roadgoing 1600 compete in several years, I've been having a whale of a time in my ex daily driver 1300 the past couple years though.

Do the events that make sense travel and timing wise. Given your location I would do Wiscombe (with caution) and Gurston, which has much less terrifying!

Otherwise. Up the M5 to Prescott isn't too bad and Castle Combe is a good fast track to experience.