FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Moderators: scimjim, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, nickkeyser

Post Reply
User avatar
CNHSS1
RSSOC Member
Posts: 13406
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by CNHSS1 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 12:46 pm

havent got a Blue Book anywhere handy, so will ask the Scimitar collective

do i need to fit an electrical cutoff (FIA style-big red plastic key type) to the Sabre for ModProd, or is marking the column and sticker on side window sufficient?

thanks in advance

CNH


Racing is life, everything before and after, is just waiting--Steve McQueen
6 time Class Champ, 2006 & 2014 SSSC Champion

RIP Batmobile, await the Rise of Dark Knight 8)
Sabre 'Light Sabre' 360hp!!
Image

User avatar
nickkeyser
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2717
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by nickkeyser » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:01 pm

I beleive not. Theres nothing specific in mod prod, and all that mentions it is on the attached image.

Taken from here:
http://www.msauk.org/site/cms/contentvi ... ticle=1158
Attachments
Cutoff.JPG
Cutoff.JPG (68.05 KiB) Viewed 1530 times


Image
"Simplfy, then add lightness" - Colin Chapman

User avatar
CNHSS1
RSSOC Member
Posts: 13406
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by CNHSS1 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:04 pm

you da man Mr K 8)

cheers

i have one ready to go in, but dont want to boff it in anywhere, want to fit it nicely and need to think about where.

will add stickers for now :-)


Racing is life, everything before and after, is just waiting--Steve McQueen
6 time Class Champ, 2006 & 2014 SSSC Champion

RIP Batmobile, await the Rise of Dark Knight 8)
Sabre 'Light Sabre' 360hp!!
Image

User avatar
nickkeyser
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2717
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by nickkeyser » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:09 pm

I always liked Dave Phillips kill switch on his 6a, behind a removeable cover. Very neat touch for a road going comp car.


Image
"Simplfy, then add lightness" - Colin Chapman

User avatar
CNHSS1
RSSOC Member
Posts: 13406
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by CNHSS1 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:40 pm

good idea, i had thought id stump for one of the expensive 'leccy 'push' button cutoffs, but will give it some thought as im tight lol


Racing is life, everything before and after, is just waiting--Steve McQueen
6 time Class Champ, 2006 & 2014 SSSC Champion

RIP Batmobile, await the Rise of Dark Knight 8)
Sabre 'Light Sabre' 360hp!!
Image

User avatar
nickkeyser
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2717
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by nickkeyser » Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:54 pm

They look the biz on the outside of the car, and mean no T pull cable to seize up and you can keep the heavy battery leads to a minimum. However, I expect your after all the weight you can get to help bring your handicap in check...


Image
"Simplfy, then add lightness" - Colin Chapman

User avatar
CNHSS1
RSSOC Member
Posts: 13406
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by CNHSS1 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:02 pm

im going to lobby that the handicap weights INCLUDE the driver for next season, then im competitive again :lol:

or ive gotta get my sorry ass back down the gym


Racing is life, everything before and after, is just waiting--Steve McQueen
6 time Class Champ, 2006 & 2014 SSSC Champion

RIP Batmobile, await the Rise of Dark Knight 8)
Sabre 'Light Sabre' 360hp!!
Image

User avatar
Corky
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9867
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:02 am
Location: Macclesfield
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 78 times

Re: FIA type cutoff needed for ModProd or not?

Post by Corky » Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:47 pm

CNHSS1 wrote:im going to lobby that the handicap weights INCLUDE the driver for next season, then im competitive again :lol:

or ive gotta get my sorry ass back down the gym
I like the first one TBH :lol:


Steve
Current:- SS1 Ti sprint car, project. VW Touareg 3.0 V6
Prev:- Sabre Ti, 2xSS1 Ti, SS1 16v Turbo Racer, 5XGTC, 2XSE6B, 2XSE5A, 2XV6 Coupe, Sabre 6
Project Threads & YouTube

“It's not the winning, it's the taking apart that counts"

Post Reply

Return to “General Sprint and Hillclimb Chat”