wiring loom

Moderators: scimjim, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, philhoward, Lukeyboy46

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:51 am

Has anyone got a picture of the V6 wiring loom they can send me - I have a strange electric problem which originally was intermittent but is now full on. I think I have lost the -ve ( earth ) connection to the console. I can of course run a new cable but would rather fix the problem - I suspect the -ve may come in at the bottom like the other cars. Too cold and windy outside at the moment to play around so no hurry ( we are out for the day anyway ) and we do have three other Scims to use.
Regards peter - peterlfree@outlook.com



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 36681
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 877 times

wiring loom

Post by scimjim » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:23 am

My dash is out, I’ll try to get pictures today.


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24410
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 551 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by philhoward » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:32 am

Whilst I don't have a picture to hand, I suspect it is the braid which (I assume) goes through the tunnel and to the gearbox mount - was certainly the case on an early SE5 which had similar symptoms. Can't see a picture of the loom (or earthing arrangement) in the parts manual.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

roymck
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Dorking Surrey
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

wiring loom

Post by roymck » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:36 am

I’ve just had all my dash out and it looks like all earths go back the starter solenoid attachment bracket on the front crossmember . If everything else works then it can only be a broken wire or a dislodged bullet connector or bad connection . What exactly is not working on the console . I had hours of fun chasing earths so it’s only the ciggy lighter with light and heater motor that need earths coloured black down there.
Last edited by roymck on Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.



roymck
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Dorking Surrey
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

wiring loom

Post by roymck » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:45 am

I don’t think the braid does anything apart from linking the parts of the car together to stop radio noise . On my car it comes up through the tunnel and is connected to the radio rear mounting , it then goes along the top of the dash and goes up to the roof Ariel . On it’s journey through the car nowhere is a black wire attached to it to act as a component earth.



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:53 am

No radio - no battery voltage indication ( voltmeter fitted instead of current meter ) starter does not engage correctly - headlights lights come on dimly afterwards - rad fan lamp ( fitted as part of fan switch ) is on dimly even when ignition off and rad fan relay clicks on when ignition off but fan does not run. Very strange all in all but not time or weather to have a proper look and figure out what other symptoms there are. Thought at first it was a bad connection on the (new) battery but they are ok. got to be a +ve or -ve problem somewhere but separate -ve leads to engine and chassis fitted and jumped to be sure they are connected +ve leads are new to starter and fuse boxes ( 8 fuse fitted ).



roymck
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Dorking Surrey
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

wiring loom

Post by roymck » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:08 am

Sounds like the earths on the solenoid on the crossmember . Have you changed to a pre engaged starter , in my car I had and the solenoid remained but both main power leads go onto one terminal . If a pre engaged starter is not kicking in then it has to be a main earth , however if you have original inertia starter then solenoid has to be earthed and this earth fixing is shared with many dash earths .
If you fitted as I have a volt meter where did you take Earth to ? Are your panel lights working?
Just to clarify what I said earlier Earth braid only earths radio casing , not used to earth radio earth wire



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:25 am

New high torque starter fitted - no remote solenoid. -ve lead connected directly to engine so I have to assume earth to starter is ok - ran another wire from he battery to the engine anyway to be sure. Used the black -ve wire in console to power the voltmeter. Not sure of other symptoms as I say it was intermittent until yesterday - I need to have more time to figure out what the other symptoms are and get a meter on all of the power leads in the console. Too windy to look today and going out for the day anyway as its my birthday - some present the Coupe has given me - voltage at the fuses look ok but not looked at them when trying to start the car.



petrolbob
RSSOC Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:15 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

wiring loom

Post by petrolbob » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:30 am

Peter have you tried a battery jump lead from battery negative terminal to major metal such as engine or bellhousing? This fault affecting so many components points to a bad earth.



petrolbob
RSSOC Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:15 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

wiring loom

Post by petrolbob » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:31 am

Sorry just read you have done that



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:33 am

Done already - changed the battery terminals as well. I WILL find the problem but it is so random to be sure what it is - even jumped across from battery -ve to chassis



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:36 am

I need to take the top off the console to find out if its the +ve or -ve that is missing. Going out for the day now - so will try not to think about it.



halfpenny
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 7:49 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 13 times

wiring loom

Post by halfpenny » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:43 pm

IIRC, my 5a has an earth strap at a common connection for the dash earth leads, adjacent the heater valve.



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 36681
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 877 times

wiring loom

Post by scimjim » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:35 pm

Yep, I can confirm as Roy says, the v6 coupe doesn’t take its dashboard earths from the braid that runs up from the chassis to the aerial like the GTE - but has two ring terminals with 3 & 2 wires connected to the remote solenoid mount on the suspension crossbrace, running into the loom.
A1F79B78-E920-44CE-BC15-D8E3D5959A0A.jpeg
A1F79B78-E920-44CE-BC15-D8E3D5959A0A.jpeg (320.77 KiB) Viewed 268 times


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9582
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 330 times
Contact:

wiring loom

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:06 pm

That has ll gone on my car - no remote solenoid and wire straight from the battery to the starter.



Post Reply

Return to “Coupé”