Ignition switch Wiring

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

Post Reply
backpain
RSSOC Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by backpain » Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:30 pm

Need some advise to cut a long story short ,,when I turn on my ignition switch not to start it but just on its dead .
I have followed 12v from battery all way to ignition switch but as soon as I turn it on the volts drop to 1point something ,there are lots of new parts starter( high torque),,relay,,ignition switch,
I have looked at all of it many times ,is it down to poor wires connections etc thanks john


Miss Moneypenny Coupe

User avatar
Coupe Racing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 6984
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Nr Telford - Shropshire
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by Coupe Racing » Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:11 pm

Sounds like a wire on a wrong terminal


Blessed are the Cheese makers

Better to be an hour early than 1 minute late

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9318
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by peter freeman » Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:21 pm




User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35506
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 796 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by scimjim » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:21 am

Which way are you turning it? Not sure if you’re aware or not but the coupe isn’t off/acc/run/start (L to R) like normal switches, it’s acc/off/run/start


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

backpain
RSSOC Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by backpain » Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:38 am

Thanks guys ,will have a close look this morning its no doubt down to me I seem to be making mistakes as I get older :lol:


Miss Moneypenny Coupe

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35506
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 796 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by scimjim » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:03 pm

IIRC Steve B’s (gillsfan) early SE5 “rat-rod” had a dash mounted switch and it threw me when you had power if you put the switch fully anti-clockwise but then no power on the next click clockwise (with the key vertical) :D


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

backpain
RSSOC Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by backpain » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:27 am

Interesting ,,,What happens when I switch on ignition does it just pass on 12v to the other 3 wires?
I had a good look I cannot see wrong connection etc but still it drops to 1v when ignition on , and now its snowing again


Miss Moneypenny Coupe

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9318
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by peter freeman » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:50 am

Where exactly are you measuring 1 volt.



backpain
RSSOC Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by backpain » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:11 am

With the ignition off I have 12v ish at switch /ammeter /solenoid /starter. That's as it should be I think,but when I switch ignition on the volts drop to around 1v on all locations .
This started a couple of weeks ago I suspected the starter its new low torque one so I was asked to send it back for testing which I did,,, no fault found tested twice
I think I will remove starter and see results,,, after a cuppa


Miss Moneypenny Coupe

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9318
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by peter freeman » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:31 am

I think you should go back a step - check the voltage at the battery terminals and the switch with it on and off then disconnect one wire at a time on the outgoing side of the switch. I would also check that the battery terminals are clean and tight.



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35506
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 796 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by scimjim » Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:53 pm

Are you sure it’s not just a dodgy main battery earth?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

backpain
RSSOC Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Norfolk
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by backpain » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:33 pm

Well what can I say I did take a step back and to the battery earth lead which I bypassed with jump leads and it all came to life :o ,never did I think it was the earth lead I had the body off in summer it was all clean .
Thanks for help guys ,next step starting her


Miss Moneypenny Coupe

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23934
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 515 times
Contact:

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by philhoward » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:36 pm

Well done :D


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9318
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

Ignition switch Wiring

Post by peter freeman » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:18 pm

backpain wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:33 pm
,next step starting her
A small cup of petrol down the carb throat always helped things along for me



Post Reply

Return to “Coupé”