How to fit a larger battery

Have you documented a Scimitar related procedure and would like to share it with others? Pictures are most welcome!
Threads will be locked once posted, so any further questions in the specific forum, please.

Moderators: erikscimitardemon, philhoward, Lukeyboy46, Roger Pennington

How to fit a larger battery

Postby ard126k » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:49 pm

I've thought for a long time that the usual 038 or 049 battery fitted to Scimitars is only just big enough for the job, so I decided to see if a larger one could be squeezed in. Measuring around the battery tray and looking at http://www.tayna.co.uk/car-battery-wizard.php I decided on an 072 size. Some bodywork was needed - this shows how I cut the inner side of the battery box -

cut1.jpg
cut1.jpg (176.91 KiB) Viewed 1995 times


and a small hole in the wheelarch -

arch1.jpg
arch1.jpg (157.09 KiB) Viewed 1995 times


I turned the box side upside down and fixed it in place ready for glassing in..

fixed1.jpg
fixed1.jpg (170.4 KiB) Viewed 1995 times


This was a 6a, I've now also done a 5 so I'll post photos soon.

Alex.
ard126k
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby windy » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:53 pm

Thats ingenious, and a much better job than cutting the front out as most do.
User avatar
windy
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:01 pm
Location: Near Shrewsbury
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby ard126k » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:56 pm

So this is the same job done on an SE5,at the primer stage. I didn't turn over the side for this one, which made the GRP work a bit harder underneath but left a neat lip along the top edge where it matters!

I've driven both cars now and no problems with wheels fouling the inner arch. Wonder why RMC didn't do it this way?

55.jpg
55.jpg (152.15 KiB) Viewed 1981 times


Alex.
ard126k
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby MikeT » Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:22 am

That's very neat - nice work.

Mine's had the front chopped out in the past - while it's functional, it doesn't look as 'factory' as that.

Well done.

Mike.
1978 Scimitar SE6a - Project thread

Image
MikeT
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 1148
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Dudley, West Mids
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby manny » Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:58 pm

just wandered..any one got a dual battery setup, either side of the engine? would the charging circuit complain?
GTE Progress#
Ti Progress#
1600 Progress#Tr7 V8 1982 #Bajaj Legend NXT ( Vespa)#bicycle 2010
User avatar
manny
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 701
Images: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: Smethwick, West Midlands
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby tony.idle » Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:30 pm

The charging circuit wouldn't notice the change.
Regards

Tony

Embrace your feminine side - RTFM

RSSOC 2332 since 1981
Past: 2x5A, GTC. Current: SST, Smart, Hymer Motorhome, Rialto, Robin, Bug, MZ Skorpion x2.
User avatar
tony.idle
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 3396
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:31 pm
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby scimjim » Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:32 pm

Do you mean two 6v batteries (as per original coupe) or a leisure battery on a split charger (to run an x-box in the passenger seat - how chav :-)) or a second starter battery?

And why? :-)
Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), 1600 SS1 (G97), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: SE6a (Katrina), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick), 1400 K series SS1 (Megan), TI SS1 (snotty), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS
User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 31639
Images: 0
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 647 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby philhoward » Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:37 pm

Or 2x34Ah normaly batteries = the same grunt as a 68Ah battery?
Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1's - 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5
SE5a Barn Find Project 24 Valve conversion
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.
User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 22031
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 413 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby nickkeyser » Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:39 pm

scimjim wrote:And why? :-)


I was wondering this. Why do you need a bigger / second battery?
Image
"Simplfy, then add lightness" - Colin Chapman
User avatar
nickkeyser
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 2650
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby trubac » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:31 pm

Alex, which tool did you use to do the cutting ?
very neat ! congrat !
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Se5a '75 (Sold)
Jensen Healey '73
Triumph 1300 TC '68, Herald '66
Honda C90 '71
Lambretta Li '64
Lambretta LD '53

RSSOC #1767
User avatar
trubac
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby manny » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:42 pm

nickkeyser wrote:
scimjim wrote:And why? :-)


I was wondering this. Why do you need a bigger / second battery?



just wandered if some folks are running HC engines, my tr7 V8 had the battery moved to the boot, partly i guess because the proper TR8 required a bigger battery to handle the cranking power( ..heat as well maybe)...i have no need ( for chav points...now) just wandered.

Ta
Manny
GTE Progress#
Ti Progress#
1600 Progress#Tr7 V8 1982 #Bajaj Legend NXT ( Vespa)#bicycle 2010
User avatar
manny
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 701
Images: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: Smethwick, West Midlands
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby manny » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:49 pm

also the topic kinda lead me that way "How to fit a larger battery"...why not fit two either side..if possible without hacking the bodywork, BTW no dig at ALEX...that looks wicked..
GTE Progress#
Ti Progress#
1600 Progress#Tr7 V8 1982 #Bajaj Legend NXT ( Vespa)#bicycle 2010
User avatar
manny
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 701
Images: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: Smethwick, West Midlands
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby ard126k » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:15 am

I didn't see how a battery either side would leave room for the spare wheel. And the cost of two would be more than the 072 I'm using.
And why? Looking at sites which give recommended battery sizes for 3L Essex-engined cars you'll see most specify batteries with more CCA ( cold cranking amps) than the normal Scimitar size. BTW the AH (amp-hour rating isn't about the 'grunt' of a battery, but about how long it will keep the lights (say) on.
Alex.
ard126k
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby ard126k » Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:56 pm

I've just found a downside to this job - I can't get the crossbrace in front of the engine out without taking the radiator hoses off! On the SE5 anyway, don' know about the 6a.
On the upside the 072 battery is still going strong, it's lasted much longer than the little ones did. I guess it's having an easier life than they did cranking the Essex.
Alex.
ard126k
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to fit a larger battery

Postby ronnie » Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:03 pm

Alex -Just gave your original post a long overdue thank you.
Told you on your visit down here a few months ago that I used this mod on a couple of my SE6s
Really a good idea.
ronnie
 
Posts: 676
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:38 pm
Location: Lanarks,Scotland
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 21 times


Return to How To Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest