photos

Problems logging in or posting pictures?
Can't register?
Not received your activation email?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19291
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 450 times

photos

Post by Roger Pennington » Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:58 pm

Yes, that's what I'd expect to happen in those circumstances. What I was wondering is, if the ohotos didn't have the inline button, would they still appear also? :)


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

Diyhell
RSSOC Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:27 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Has thanked: 66 times
Been thanked: 10 times

photos

Post by Diyhell » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:20 pm

I've had the same problems with some JPG photos, all from my Motorola phone, uploading with the Add Inline option, and some updating but only showing Delete.It's on Win10 using Chrome.

A work around is to open the pic in Google Picasa (if you have it, another program would no doubt work too) then resave it as a JPG again under a new filename. Uploads fine after that. I can only think it's some odd file type/metadata issue?


SE6a needing lots of work...

User avatar
DARK STAR
RSSOC Member
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Antibes, France
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

photos

Post by DARK STAR » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:46 pm

As just posted elsewhere, I tried to load two jpg's.
One drag-and-dropped ok.
The other didn't work even when I renamed it.
I finally resized and re-saved it and then it loaded.


Chris Johnson
RSSOC 1979> Dark Star Coupé 1989> Scimitar France 2010> Vert Soleil GTC 2014>
Scimitar France Website No1 on Google, updated nearly every day

mermar74
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

photos

Post by mermar74 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:04 pm

Still no cigar!

All the photos I have tried to post are in JPEG format and all on the same computer. I have tried umpteen times to load (as explained several times on this post), but always only the pictures taken with the Ipad get the inline button, the pictures taken with a digital camera do not. Try as I might, pictures that do not get an inline button refuse to show in Preview as has been suggested.

I have also dragged several pictures into dialogue box; all show up on the file box, but upon checking in Preview (after some time waiting) only the ones taken by the Ipad ( and get the inline button) show up in the preview box.



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35884
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 820 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:33 pm

It does sound like a metadata problem. Victor, can you email one of the pictures that won't upload, to me at 565king@gmail.com please.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

mermar74
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

photos

Post by mermar74 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:45 pm

scimjim wrote:
Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:33 pm
It does sound like a metadata problem. Victor, can you email one of the pictures that won't upload, to me at 565king@gmail.com please.
Sent Jim.



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35884
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 820 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:46 pm

100_3814.JPG
100_3814.JPG (296.29 KiB) Viewed 1478 times


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35884
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 820 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:47 pm

Most strange! Absolutely no problems adding it.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
DARK STAR
RSSOC Member
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Antibes, France
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

photos

Post by DARK STAR » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:51 pm

It's certainly worth seeing!
Have you updated your thread Victor, because I haven't had a notification 8)


Chris Johnson
RSSOC 1979> Dark Star Coupé 1989> Scimitar France 2010> Vert Soleil GTC 2014>
Scimitar France Website No1 on Google, updated nearly every day

mermar74
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

photos

Post by mermar74 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:59 pm

I am completely baffled by all this. I have tried to load the same picture again and it still does not work.

As well, I have tried to upload several pictures taken with the Ipad, and it will only allow me to post 5 pictures and no more. Any more pictures will not get and inline button.



User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24055
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 526 times
Contact:

photos

Post by philhoward » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:24 am

I think I spotted a setting which seemingly can prevent more than 5 pictures being placed inline per post - now changed to 10. That might not fix the issue with why some of your images can't be uploaded by you (I can only assume that the one you emailed to Jim might have been changed/compressed through emailing?). If any clues are forthcoming, then I'll let Ian know and see if there's anything that can be done from the "backroom".


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35884
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 820 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:01 am

I posted 10 inline on page one of this thread.

Spent 2 hours last night on phpbb forum but didn't find anything about adding photos that didn't come back to isolated user problems (out of date Firefox etc).


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24055
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 526 times
Contact:

photos

Post by philhoward » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:05 am

I managed to add 9 images (only one inline though) so I'm slightly at a loss currently.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7470
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 208 times
Contact:

photos

Post by AJL Electronics » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:36 am

I can still see the issue with this batch of five. The first two loaded (799,783) are fine, then one called "diginova" doesn't load. Next two (inside, Berkeley3) do load.
screen.jpg
screen.jpg (113.01 KiB) Viewed 1649 times
Attachments
Berkeley3.JPG
Berkeley3.JPG (273.5 KiB) Viewed 1649 times
Cheltenham_inside.JPG
Cheltenham_inside.JPG (250.21 KiB) Viewed 1649 times
DSCN3783.JPG
DSCN3783.JPG (184.2 KiB) Viewed 1649 times
DSCN3799.JPG
DSCN3799.JPG (189.97 KiB) Viewed 1649 times


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
DARK STAR
RSSOC Member
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Antibes, France
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

photos

Post by DARK STAR » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:40 am

Yes, if they show the 'place inline' box they load, if not, not.
The question is why some files do not show the 'place inline' box ...


Chris Johnson
RSSOC 1979> Dark Star Coupé 1989> Scimitar France 2010> Vert Soleil GTC 2014>
Scimitar France Website No1 on Google, updated nearly every day

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Issues & News”