photos

Problems logging in or posting pictures?
Can't register?
Not received your activation email?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7342
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 198 times
Contact:

photos

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:01 am

Curiouser and curiouser, the image of the trailer rear view still loads correctly.
Attachments
IMG_2574.JPG
IMG_2574.JPG (168.96 KiB) Viewed 1143 times


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:26 am

Definitely conflicting with something then - and the only change is your router? Try disconnecting your phone and using 4g


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

philynnbob
RSSOC Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Nr Aberystwyth
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 19 times

How to upload a picture

Post by philynnbob » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:32 am

Well interesting result. I have been unable to post a particular picture of 4.8 mb,thought it may be because my Internet was very slow at 2.4 Mbps. However now have FTTH at 52mbps and picture still does not want to load? Must be that particular picture.



User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7342
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 198 times
Contact:

photos

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:41 am

Not the router, but the size of the images. Small ones fail, full resolution work.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7342
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 198 times
Contact:

photos

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:42 am

All these are from Firefox on the PC.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:47 am

AJL Electronics wrote:
Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:41 am
Not the router, but the size of the images. Small ones fail, full resolution work.
168kb isn't full resolution? What size is "small"


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Sun Aug 27, 2017 8:45 am

ard126k wrote:
Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:54 am
I'm not seeing a "place inline" box after I upload a file, just a "delete file" one. Tried with my MacBook (Firefox) and iPad (Safari) What am I not doing right?
Alex.
What size is the original picture and what speed is your wi-fi?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 15 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:08 pm

Pics are generally 100-150kB, speedchecker thingy says latency is 221ms, download is 7.4Mbps and upload is 8.2Mbps.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:24 pm

How long are you waiting for the "place inline" to appear? I was uploading half a dozen 3.2mb images at a time (like these) at the workshop on a Mi-Fi this weekend and it could take some time?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 15 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:32 pm

Not long I must confess. I'll try again and wait a bit.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

ard126k
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 15 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:33 pm

No improvement I'm afraid. When I drag a photo filename onto the text box the name appears immediately in the list below. When I use the 'old' way of uploading (select the file and click 'open') it takes maybe 10 secs for the name to appear in the box. Neither method gives me an option to place inline. I've waited 10 mins!!

BTW when I drag the filename over the text box a green + appears as if it should work.

Wouldn't be anything to do with Adobe Flash would it? That's not working on this Mac.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:40 pm

Apple (famously) doesn't support adobe flash on iPads or phones, I didn't know until just now that you could get it for MacOS.

I'm not up to speed on the Mac - can anyone with a mac do some screenshots of the 'add files" process just to make sure it's not something obvious we're missing please>


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19055
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 435 times

photos

Post by Roger Pennington » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:49 pm

I know nothing of Macs. However it strikes me that before we blame Flash, (or the lack of it) it might be useful to know if it's actually involved in the process?

I agree, some screenshots of the process working on a mac would be useful :)


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34815
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 750 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:59 pm

It won't be the lack of flash (my iPad and iPhone upload fine) - but the lack of flash on a Mac which was previously working, may indicate an underlying problem that's conflicting with the forum's upload function?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 15 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:07 pm

I think it's always been part of the Mac, but only as a plugin in Firefox. For the past 6 months or so I've been getting warnings from some sites (not Scimitarweb I must say) that it's outdated and vulnerable and should be updated. No updates available from Apple, but that may be because this is quite an elderly machine.

I was starting to do screenshots when I remembered I wouldn't be able to upload them... :oops:


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Issues & News”