photos

Problems logging in or posting pictures?
Can't register?
Not received your activation email?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35894
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 821 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Sun Aug 27, 2017 8:45 am

ard126k wrote:
Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:54 am
I'm not seeing a "place inline" box after I upload a file, just a "delete file" one. Tried with my MacBook (Firefox) and iPad (Safari) What am I not doing right?
Alex.
What size is the original picture and what speed is your wi-fi?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:08 pm

Pics are generally 100-150kB, speedchecker thingy says latency is 221ms, download is 7.4Mbps and upload is 8.2Mbps.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35894
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 821 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:24 pm

How long are you waiting for the "place inline" to appear? I was uploading half a dozen 3.2mb images at a time (like these) at the workshop on a Mi-Fi this weekend and it could take some time?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:32 pm

Not long I must confess. I'll try again and wait a bit.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:33 pm

No improvement I'm afraid. When I drag a photo filename onto the text box the name appears immediately in the list below. When I use the 'old' way of uploading (select the file and click 'open') it takes maybe 10 secs for the name to appear in the box. Neither method gives me an option to place inline. I've waited 10 mins!!

BTW when I drag the filename over the text box a green + appears as if it should work.

Wouldn't be anything to do with Adobe Flash would it? That's not working on this Mac.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35894
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 821 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:40 pm

Apple (famously) doesn't support adobe flash on iPads or phones, I didn't know until just now that you could get it for MacOS.

I'm not up to speed on the Mac - can anyone with a mac do some screenshots of the 'add files" process just to make sure it's not something obvious we're missing please>


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19300
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 450 times

photos

Post by Roger Pennington » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:49 pm

I know nothing of Macs. However it strikes me that before we blame Flash, (or the lack of it) it might be useful to know if it's actually involved in the process?

I agree, some screenshots of the process working on a mac would be useful :)


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35894
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 821 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:59 pm

It won't be the lack of flash (my iPad and iPhone upload fine) - but the lack of flash on a Mac which was previously working, may indicate an underlying problem that's conflicting with the forum's upload function?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:07 pm

I think it's always been part of the Mac, but only as a plugin in Firefox. For the past 6 months or so I've been getting warnings from some sites (not Scimitarweb I must say) that it's outdated and vulnerable and should be updated. No updates available from Apple, but that may be because this is quite an elderly machine.

I was starting to do screenshots when I remembered I wouldn't be able to upload them... :oops:


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35894
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 821 times

photos

Post by scimjim » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:10 pm

Hmm, what version MacOS are you on? Firefox is no longer supported for OS 10.6, 7 & 8 . It may be an out of date Firefox that's causing the problems?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:32 am

OS is 10.6.8, Firefox is v. 48.0.2. I'm not sure that's the problem, I've just tried uploading with Safari 5.1.10 and no luck there either.

I think MacOS and Firefox were past their use-by dates before the forum upgrade, and uploading was fine then.

No problem uploading pics to eBay.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24070
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 527 times
Contact:

photos

Post by philhoward » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:38 am

Must fire up my Mac at home..

I think there are a few Mac users - Chris (Dark Star) certainly being one?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:46 am

I just tried uploading a pic to the Austin A30 OC forum which uses the older version. Went well.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

User avatar
DARK STAR
RSSOC Member
Posts: 5497
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Antibes, France
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

photos

Post by DARK STAR » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:27 am

Only just come across this, and no time to read back.
When the changes were first implemented I had a lot of trouble loading pics but today I drag-and-dropped three images of several megabytes and the system worked perfectly.
(From a Mac running OS 10.10.5 and Safari)


Chris Johnson
RSSOC 1979> Dark Star Coupé 1989> Scimitar France 2010> Vert Soleil GTC 2014>
Scimitar France Website No1 on Google, updated nearly every day

ard126k
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

photos

Post by ard126k » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:06 am

To add to the confusion -
se5 fuel 1.png
se5 fuel 1.png (196.82 KiB) Viewed 1451 times
this works! .png file from GW's site, saved to my hard disk.


1971 SE5 1977 SE6 1982 GTC

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Issues & News”