SE5a Fusebox Error

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

Post Reply
Rev Light
RSSOC Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:54 pm
Location: Swindon
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 19 times

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by Rev Light » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:08 pm

All,

I have recently acquired a used SE5A fuse box, courtesy of Phil Howard (visa ScimJim). Jim mentioned he seemed to recall that there was a labelling issue, on the top of the fusebox, with regard to the fuse allocation. Any thoughts?

I have tried to search this sight, but nothing is leaping out. Although there is a witness mark on this assembly that might indicate that there was a sticker over contacts 5,6, 7 and 8 (Parking/Side and tail lights?)

Cheers

Steve


SE5a 'Fancier'

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23754
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 493 times
Contact:

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by philhoward » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:16 pm

I think a quick look at the handbook, Peter Freemans wiring diagram and cross reference to the cover tells all. There were subtle changes over the years but I think that was relating to the commoning across some of the fuses on the back rather than the actual function (relating to the change in headlamps and whether they were sealed beam, halogen or when they added the main beam relay.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

Rev Light
RSSOC Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 12:54 pm
Location: Swindon
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 19 times

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by Rev Light » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:33 pm

Thanks Phil,

Not that my 5A is wired as 'standard'. Its is over 40 years old, after all.

Steve


SE5a 'Fancier'

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23754
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 493 times
Contact:

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by philhoward » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:36 pm

Neither is mine (now) - so hardly an accurate point of reference either!
5aFuses.JPG
5aFuses.JPG (113.2 KiB) Viewed 600 times
Does that help?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19101
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 437 times

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by Roger Pennington » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:45 pm

I think if you search Geoff Cooper's old posts there may be something about it - ISTR it was something he had strong views on? :)


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23754
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 493 times
Contact:

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by philhoward » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:48 pm

I think it was on some 5a's the fuses were actually connected in serial (something like LH dip fuse fed the LH lamp and the RH dip fuse?) which was actually a wiring fault.

Steve - I've no idea what year/spec that fusebox came from - but if you've done the sensible thing and relayed the headlights anyway then it shouldn't make much difference?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19101
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 437 times

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by Roger Pennington » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:49 pm

Well, that was a wiring issue, maybe this thread and this other thread may be what you're after?


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23754
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 493 times
Contact:

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by philhoward » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:02 pm

That's the issue I was thinking of.

IIRC, Steve is actually replacing an aftermarket fusebox with an original, so should be able to correct the problem if it does exist on his?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35083
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 770 times

SE5a Fusebox Error

Post by scimjim » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:03 pm

So there’s two problems - the 15/16 blue/red error that Geoff highlighted and fuse 11/12 that is annotated headlamps on the cover, but isn’t.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “Se5/5a”