Se5a gauges

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, Lukeyboy46, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, philhoward

Post Reply
pdedsddd
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Se5a gauges

Post by pdedsddd » Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:15 pm

Hi all , 2nd question tonite. Volt guage off the scale (always has been)? Water temp gauge , petrol gauge all live without keys in or 1st position on key. Disconnected the voltage Stabiliser & petrol & water temp gauges went down to zero,apart from volt meter,will this flatten battery .If anyone has any ideas please.
Cheers Paul.



rebel alliance
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Se5a gauges

Post by rebel alliance » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:11 pm

It will ...i would guess your ignition switch may be at fault



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 40173
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 1279 times

Se5a gauges

Post by scimjim » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:22 pm

If the voltmeter is at max whether the engine is running or not, I’d say it’s broken.

If the fuel and temp are live with ignition off, the VS supply is coming from the wrong place or you have a short to live on the VS supply wire?


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), 1400 1600 1800 Zetec ST170 powered SS1 (G97), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre, TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR).
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

pdedsddd
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Se5a gauges

Post by pdedsddd » Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:45 pm

rebel alliance wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:11 pm
It will ...i would guess your ignition switch may be at fault
would it flatten battery or cause any other damage? many thanks Paul



User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 27274
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 875 times
Contact:

Se5a gauges

Post by philhoward » Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:18 am

pdedsddd wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:45 pm
rebel alliance wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 10:11 pm
It will ...i would guess your ignition switch may be at fault
would it flatten battery or cause any other damage? many thanks Paul
Probably, yes.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
SS1 Racer
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 40173
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 189 times
Been thanked: 1279 times

Se5a gauges

Post by scimjim » Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:34 am

You need to find out if there’s actually any voltage at the gauge first, or is it just stuck?


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), 1400 1600 1800 Zetec ST170 powered SS1 (G97), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre, TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR).
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”