ss1 auto choke adjust

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: philhoward, Lukeyboy46, Roger Pennington, erikscimitardemon

ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby agriffo2000 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:12 am

Hello Everyone,
I am having some problems with the autochoke on my 1.6 ss1 CVH engine with weber dft carb, electric choke

With the engine off, and cold, pressing the gas pedal makes the choke flaps shut and the fast idle cam engage with the adjusting screw - great!

As soon as I start the car, the flaps open half way and the fast idle cam moves so that the adjusting screw does not engage (or if it does it is on the second notch) and the revs are just over 1000rpm and the car doesn't like it much.

Is it supposed to do this? Is it not cold enough today to fully engage the choke? or is there something up somewhere? I tried turning the choke mechanism but I seem to remember this just adjusts the point at which it comes off rather than anything else.

The thermostat needs changing as it takes a long time to get up to temperature and there was quite a lot of mayonnaise in the flame trap which is a bit worrying.

thanks!

Adrian
User avatar
agriffo2000
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 287
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Liverpool
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby greeny » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:51 pm

Are you just doing short distances in it Ade? If so the CVH is known to condensate and you get mayonnaise in the rocker cover.
Can't help with the carb issue though
Babe the GTC number 229 and and Smurfett the 1400 SST. Ness the vw t4 van/dayvan/camper
Previous 3.0v6 X type jaguar triumph acclaim scimitar SE4A 663 (ex Collin Watson coupe) 2x se5a's 2x SS1 1600s and a load.of other things I can't remember!!!
GTC drivers doing it under canvas since 1981!!
RSSOC SCIMITAR GTC REGISTRAR
Website scimitargtc.co.uk
12601 14846 18/09/12
User avatar
greeny
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 5375
Images: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Dukinfield Cheshire
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby philhoward » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:59 pm

Sounds like the vacuum pull down needs adjusting (I think I'm remembering it right) as it's this which pulls the choke off a bit based on engine vacuum. I think the instructions are both in the club manual and a Haynes manual for a Mk3 Escort?

Thermostats do fail for fun - best do the fan switch whilst you've got the housing off as well otherwise Sod's law will dictate it will fail shortly after.
Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1's - 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5
SE5a Barn Find Project 24 Valve conversion
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.
User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 22503
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby Alan SS1 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:00 pm

Adrian

it sounds as if it is doing 'what it should' but the setting of the choke might need tweaked. it has various 'fast idle' speeds depending on which step it lands on.

have you taken the cover off? you might be faced with numerous small bits of nylon . . . . :-(

that can give 'interesting' results
SS1 1600 (AJZ ----), Regal 330 (VAV ---), C30 (SK 57 ---)& 480 (EVU ---)
User avatar
Alan SS1
 
Posts: 1622
Images: 0
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:58 pm
Location: BoD, Aberdeen
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby agriffo2000 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:40 pm

Thanks All,
yes I have only been using it on short journeys around town so hopefully that explains the mayonnaise. I have ordered a new flame trap and will clean everything out again when I fit it.

The nylon fast idle wheel is intact and seems to move as it should. I'll have a look at the vacuum system, thanks.

I know I need to sort the thermostat before I get too involved but I understand it is an awkward job and I just don't have the time for those sorts of jobs at the moment!

A
User avatar
agriffo2000
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 287
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Liverpool
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby agriffo2000 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:55 pm

I managed to have a quick look again at this tonight. Am I right in thinking that the white and blue wire which goes onto the auto choke unit goes to the back of the alternator? If so where does it connect to - the stud which has about 8v when the car is running but nothing when car isn't running?

ta

A
User avatar
agriffo2000
RSSOC Member
 
Posts: 287
Images: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Liverpool
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby myredscimitar » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:26 pm

agriffo2000 wrote:I managed to have a quick look again at this tonight. Am I right in thinking that the white and blue wire which goes onto the auto choke unit goes to the back of the alternator? If so where does it connect to - the stud which has about 8v when the car is running but nothing when car isn't running?

ta

A



Yes, I believe that's the right connection.

I asked the same thing a few years ago, and some of the more knowledgeable confirmed it.

Apparently it's done this way so the autochoke only gets power when the engine is actually running, the " middle " tapping on the alternator being the only point on the car which is only " live " when things are turning.

Keith
1600 CVH SS1 1988
1400 CVH SS1 1987
Previous GTE 6b 1983
RSSOC 5432
The Scimitar SS1 is not so much a car as a lifestyle statement; it basically says "I'm mad, and I don't care".
myredscimitar
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:08 pm
Location: Tewkesbury
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: ss1 auto choke adjust

Postby Alan SS1 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:57 pm

myredscimitar wrote:
agriffo2000 wrote:I managed to have a quick look again at this tonight. Am I right in thinking that the white and blue wire which goes onto the auto choke unit goes to the back of the alternator? If so where does it connect to - the stud which has about 8v when the car is running but nothing when car isn't running?

ta

A



Yes, I believe that's the right connection.

I asked the same thing a few years ago, and some of the more knowledgeable confirmed it.

Apparently it's done this way so the autochoke only gets power when the engine is actually running, the " middle " tapping on the alternator being the only point on the car which is only " live " when things are turning.

Keith


and as at a lower voltage don't do anything fancy like supply it from a 'switched supply' :shock:
SS1 1600 (AJZ ----), Regal 330 (VAV ---), C30 (SK 57 ---)& 480 (EVU ---)
User avatar
Alan SS1
 
Posts: 1622
Images: 0
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:58 pm
Location: BoD, Aberdeen
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 23 times


Return to General Technical Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: peter freeman, Terry H and 2 guests